Practical Project – embossing Kapa-line foamboard

I have recently ordered some materials from the 4D Model Shop, based in London (http://www.modelshop.co.uk/) after recommendations from David Neat on the range of materials available only from this shop.

One such material is Kapa-Line Foamboard which contains polyeurathane as opposed to the standard polystyrene. Once the paper lining is removed this allows you to emboss the material, which keeps the shape. One way of exploiting this quality for my project is to make custom stamping tools with designs specifically for the Clayr’s Glacier environment. Another option is to use found objects to create patterns.

I have been experimenting over the last couple of weeks with this technique of testing found objects. The images below show how really simple basic found objects can be used and can be very effective, without spending money or time.

2013-04-29 14.47.18 2013-04-29 14.47.53 2013-04-29 14.48.05

I’m hoping to use my recently made stars from the 3D printer to make a custom tool for embossing the foam. I have also made a stone block tool so that I can make a repeated pattern that gives the impression of the slight depressions and raised areas of a stone wall like I have demonstrated with the practice piece below. You can also see how beating the foam with a wire brush can give the texture of stone, and how the foam keeps this texture even when I compress the foam by pressing the stone block tool into it.

2013-07-04 18.09.03

5 comments
  1. isaac said:

    Keep up the very good work.

  2. zachary said:

    This is a really good read for me. Must agree that you are one of the coolest blogger I ever saw. Thanks for posting this useful information. This was just what I was on looking for. I’ll come back to this blog for sure!

  3. Pingback: bcxqtbvSH2

  4. Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is very useful.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. First off I would like to say awesome blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.

    I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

Leave a comment